Aboriginal Lands District


Aboriginal Lands District

AES Adelaide       AES Ernabella              

Aboriginal Lands  District


 AES Adelaide

 AES Ernabella

Job & Person specifications

AES Adelaide Staff

 AES Ernabella Staff









Anangu Education is the service provision unit within the Aboriginal Lands District, of the Department of Education and Children’s Services, that provides education services for communities situated within the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands, the Maralinga Tjarutja Lands and the Yalata Lands.

 Over a number of years, there has been a steadily developing trend for Anangu (Anangu is the word that people in these communities use in reference to themselves) to seek greater involvement in school issues and policy / curriculum directions.

 In line with a request from Anangu people and with the Department of Education, and Children’s Services (DECD) policy on community involvement in schools, this movement was formalised for the APY Lands in an agreement between the Minister of Education, Anangu Education and the Pitjantjatjara/Yankunytjatjara Education Committee (PYEC), giving PYEC Policy and Operational control of education on the APY Lands.

 Individual communities and their Governing Councils have a strong role to play in decisions associated with the education of their children. It is part of the responsibility of school principals and all staff to ensure that this link between school and community is maintained and developed so that genuine empowerment of the community in matters relating to education and school occurs.

 Each community on the APY Lands also has representatives who serve on the Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Education Committee (PYEC). This body is a sub-committee of Anangu Pitjantjatjara and gives direction to Anangu Education. PYEC meets regularly to make determinations related to policy and operational matters associated with education across the Lands.

 Structures around the governance of education that empower Anangu are the subject of continuing negotiation with Yalata and Maralinga Tjarutja.

 The various communities range in size from the small community at Watarru (school population of approximately 20 children, pre-school through to Junior Secondary), to Ernabella (approximately 120 children, pre-school to secondary).

 An element of the resources support structure for the APY Lands schools is the Anangu Education Office located at Ernabella. This is an administrative, curriculum, ICT and financial support office managed by Anangu Education through the Coordinating Principal. This office also has Training and Development facilities and serves as a base for Coordinators in Hearing Impairment, Anangu Teacher Support, Secondary Education and Resource Based Learning methodology.

The Anangu Education Office in Adelaide provides services for all Aboriginal Lands District schools in management of policy, personnel matters and finances, public relations, liaison with other DECD services, recruitment and induction, and curriculum development including materials development and publication.

Address :

AES Adelaide

111– 125 Folland Avenue

Northgate  SA  5085


Phone (08) 8359 4626

Fax     (08) 8359 4627



AES Ernabella

PMB 181
Ernabella via

Phone: (08) 89562929
Fax:     (08) 89567546

Email: info@aeseo.sa.edu.au


Aboriginal Lands District  /AES Adelaide / AES Ernabella

Job and Person Specifications / AESEO Staff / Housing / ICT / Resources / Schools

Date Modified: November 2008  Enquiries to:  Webmaster copyright / disclaimer  / privacy

Home URL:  http://www.aeseo.sa.edu.au